Chalkboard Wedding

Oh Dear Reader, how I have missed you! I took an extended holiday weekend and have been (mostly) offline since last Friday. Things are going to be really busy the next week or two, so I will only be doing a couple of posts a week, and not every day.

With that being said, lets talk about using Chalkboard accents in your wedding. Super popular right now (I even seen a chalkboard gift card at Kohl’s yesterday)!!! I have to admit that last December for my wedding, I used a lot of chalkboard accents. I had my seating board on black foam board with white chalk marker, some bar signs, the signs for my hot chocolate bar (yes, it was as awesome as it sounds), and the signs my ring bearer and Jr. Groom carried down the aisle.

Being as popular as it is right now, you can go to any craft or big box store and find TONS of chalkboard materials. Most of it is DIY (for those of you who don’t know, I love DIY projects), but if you are lucky, you can fin some premade products in the store or online. If you are so inclined for DIY, you can get chalk pens in white and a bunch of other colors, though if you are afraid of it smudging, I recommend sketching it out in pencil, and using a permanent paint marker. If you can’t find something that has the look that you want to achieve, make it! If you find a gorgeous frame while thrifting or that you have around the house, cut a piece of cardboard to size and paint it with chalkboard paint and make your own chalkboard! Of if the frame is 8″x10″, you can find chalkboard backgrounds and use white font and print out some signs.

If you want to take the chalkboard accents to a full blown Chalkboard theme, it is too easy. Just go black and white! Black and white weddings have always been popular. For the chalkboard theme, pick pale pastels to act as accents, especially pale pink. If you don’t want accents, just go straight black and white. You can find chalkboard invitations and stationary, have your baker design a chalkboard cake and even get black and white rings. Apparel is easy. Of course, white for your dress, with black accents if you would like. Black dresses for your maids with white sashes. Black and white tuxes for your groom and groomsmen. You can stay with the black and white for your flower as well, or incorporate your pale pastels like pink or lavender.

There you have it. Don’t forget to visit and follow my Pinterest page for more pins about Chalkboard and other wedding ideas!

Jackie

Leave a comment